Best Ever Butternut Soup

031

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged my ultimate soup recipe yet!  I always have a few Tupperware pots of various versions of this soup in my freezer for a low-cal, nutritious and delicious dinner when I run out time or ideas for dinner.  And I always bring a small pot of left-overs for my work lunch and simply don’t grow tired of it.

Since making this soup, I am constantly floored by anyone’s need to put cream, butter, milk or any other fat laden ingredient into a soup.  There is no need and my recipe is proof of that.

This post features butternut, but I’ve also made the soup with different combinations of sweet potato, courgette, carrot, broccoli, peppers and any other left over veggie I have in the fridge.  I always add the lentils not only to thicken the soup, but add to its nutritional content.   As always, any recipe I’ve made up has an exceptionally easy and short method 🙂

Ingredients
1 butternut, cut into cubes
1 small red onion, chopped
200g dry red lentils
2 veg stock cubes
Tsp curry powder

Method
Saute onion, add butternut and allow to sizzle a little. Add water, stock cubes and rinsed lentils.  Pop on the lid and cook for 15-20 minutes until the butternut is soft.  Blend into soup consistency, stir in curry powder.

Nutritional – I divide this pot into 4 large portions
Calories:  170
Fat:  0.2g
Carbs:  35g
Protein: 9g

One thought on “Best Ever Butternut Soup

Leave a Reply

